## **2020 Election Supervisory Board**

## In Re: Candidate Seminar Absence

## ESB Resolution: 2020-001

Election Supervisory Board Vice Chair Nicholas Eastwood delivered the majority opinion of the board:

"In the matter of a candidate not appearing at the extended filing candidate seminar"

*Whereas*, Section 7.9 (b) of the Campus-Wide Election Code reads "Attendance at the candidate seminar is required of each candidate running in a race that is part of the Campus-Wide elections process. Failure to attend the Seminar shall not be an acceptable excuse for violating this Code."

*Whereas,* Election Supervisory Board Advisory Opinion 2020-001(A) reads "Those failing to meet the above requirements will be subject to a Class A Violation (referenced from Sec. 4.13 of the Campus-Wide Election Code "DEFINING CLASSES OF VIOLATIONS") –a 20% decrease of your campaign spending limit"

*Whereas,* The Election Supervisory Board has voted to issue a class A violation to any candidate who misses the candidate seminar; and, therefore, be it,

*Resolved*, That the following candidates are hereby fined a 20% reduction in budget spending for the duration of the 2020 campus election cycle

Candidate Name	Candidate for
Ahmet Fevzi Selimoglu	Engineering
Ethan Lee Smith	Liberal Arts
Kiara Kenae Vaughters	Liberal Arts
Jack Caleb Kendrick	Natural Science
Sasha Noel Roberts	Natural Science
Elizabeth M. Zhu	Pharmacy
Matthew Kenny	TSM Board At-large Student Member
Izzy Riback	University Wide

*Resolved,* That any adversely affected party has the right to appeal this decision pursuant to Section 5.1 of the Campus-Wide Election Code, which reads, "APPEAL OF ESB DESICISON: Any party adversely affected by a decision of the Election Supervisory Board may file an appeal with the entity with appellate jurisdiction within twenty-four (24) hours after the adverse decision is announced, unless the Election Supervisory Board's decision takes place during a voting period."

*In conclusion*, The Election Supervisory Board submits its resolution on Friday, February 14, 2020, with the majority of board members who were present at the meeting. Affirmative Votes:

Opinion Authorized By: Sergio Cavazos (Chair) Nicholas Eastwood (Vice Chair) Devika Manish Kumar (Secretary) Jessica Zhang Katherine Birch Jenny Ainsworth Hyun Jung Chris Brooke Molly Comeaux