2019 Election Supervisory Board

In Res. Financial Disclosure #1 Submission

ESB Resolution: 2019-001

Election Supervisory Board Vice Chair Mariano Bracamontes Akle delivered the majority opinion of the board:

"In the matter of multiple candidates failing to submit timely financial disclosures."

Whereas, Section 7.14 of the Campus-wide Election Code reads "FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT. Financial disclosure statements shall be filed with the Election Supervisory Board, in the Student Government Office (SAC 2.102) or other locations designated by the Election Supervisory Board, at the following times: (a) by 4:30PM, on the first day of campaigning; (b) by 4:30PM, on the last day of the General or Special Election."

Whereas, Failure to submit timely financial disclosures is punishable by the ESB sua sponte as outlined in Madison Gardner/Antonio Guevara v. the Election Supervisory Board (Docket Number: 2012SE-005); and,

Whereas, Election Supervisory Board Advisory Opinion 2019-003 reads "the first financial disclosure will be due by Monday, February 18, 2019 at 4:30 PM."

Whereas, The Election Supervisory Board has voted to assess a Class A Violation resulting in a 5% reduction in candidates' spending limits for candidates who failed to submit the first financial disclosure in a timely fashion; and, therefore, be it,

Resolved, That the following candidates are hereby assessed a 5% reduction in their spending limits:

Candidate Names	Position
Anilya Krishnan	Student Government Vice-President
Christina Baze	Graduate Student Assembly President
Colby Jaeger	Transfer Representative
Lucy Blevins	Graduate Student Assembly Vice-President
Michaela Lavelle	Student Government President
Rhea Sachdeva	Natural Science Representative

Resolved, That any adversely affected party has the right to appeal this decision pursuant to Section 5.1 of the Campus-Wide Election Code, which reads, "APPEAL OF ESB DECISION: Any party adversely affected by a decision of the Election Supervisory Board may file an appeal with the entity with appellate jurisdiction within twenty-four (24) hours after the adverse decision is announced, unless the Election Supervisory Board's decision takes place during a voting period."

In conclusion, the Election Supervisory Board submits its resolution on Wednesday, February 20, 2019, with the majority of board members who were present at the meeting.

Affirmative Votes:

Dakota Park-Ozee, Chair Mariano Bracamontes Akle, Vice Chair Nicholas Eastwood Jenohn Euland Isaac James Carolyn Plein