## Election Supervisory Board Advisory Opinion 2025-004 (Issued: December 10, 2024)

**Subject: Election Code Chair** 

The 2025 Election Supervisory Board would like to clarify the role of the *Election Code Chair*.

Whereas, Section 2.21 of the Campus-Wide Election Code defines the Election Code Chair as:

"The candidate-appointed worker (agent) in charge of reviewing University and election rules and procedures for the campaign staff. The candidate is the default Election Code Chair. The candidate must disclose the name, phone number, and email of the appointed worker who will serve as the Election Code Chair in accordance with Sec. 6.17 of this Code."

Per Section 6.17 of the Campus-Wide Election Code:

"NOTIFICATIONS OF FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE DEADLINES. ESB will send a notification of an upcoming financial disclosure deadline within 24 hours of the deadline but no later than 12 hours from the deadline.

a. The notification will be sent by email and at least one other form of communication (i.e. text message, phone call, social media, etc.) to candidates and the Election Code Chair."

Each candidate may recruit and designate a member of their campaign as their Election Code Chair. Candidates need to notify the ESB at least 24 hours before the Financial Disclosure deadline in order for them to receive the notification for the deadline. Candidates will notify the ESB through this <u>Election Code Chair form on HornsLink</u> with the appointed worker's name, phone number, and email. This form will open at 11 p.m. after the conclusion of the Candidate Seminar on Monday, February 10, 2025 and close at 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 3, 2025.

Candidates may choose not to appoint an Election Code Chair for their campaign. In this case, the candidate is the default Election Code Chair, meaning they will be the only one on their campaign to receive a notification for financial disclosure deadlines.

## **Opinion Authorized By:**

Ty Gribble (Chair)
Samuel Hecht (Vice-Chair)
Isabella Herrera (Secretary)
Brady Howel
Gillian Knowles
Riley McCain
Kaya Miller
Spencer Sundberg
Tariq Wrensford