Click for Navigation Menu Legislative Student Organizations Legislative Student Organizations (small logo)
photo of Longhorn crowd
  UT Home -> Office of the Dean of Students -> Campus-Wide Elections

Campus-Wide Elections

Each spring semester, many different positions open up for campus leadership opportunities. Positions become available in the Graduate Student Assembly, Student Government, Texas Student Media, University Co-op, and the University Unions. These opportunities are fulfilled by students who file to become candidates and participate in the Campus-Wide Elections.

Supervision of the Campus-Wide Elections begins with the Election Supervisory Board. This group is charged with conducting and overseeing the elections, including disputes and grievances. Students have the opportunity to participate on the Election Supervisory Board when applications open mid-fall.

During each fall semester, first-year students have the opportunity to serve on Student Government via First-Year Elections.

2017 – 2018 Election Supervisory Board Applications

Leaders Wanted for Campus Wide Election Supervisory Board!

The Election Supervisory Board (ESB) is charged with conducting and overseeing student elections, including those required by the Student Government Constitution and by other University policy-making boards or administrative bodies that refer to the ESB in their election code. Election disputes and grievances are heard by the ESB; their decisions may be appealed through an appellate procedure as well.

To be considered for membership on the 2017-2018 ESB, please complete the online application by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, November 6, 2017. The application can be found at: Interviews will take place prior to the Thanksgiving holiday between 11/16 – 11/19. Applicants will be notified if they have been selected for an interview. Students chosen to serve on the ESB will be notified after interviews and have one meeting before the end of the fall semester.

The position entails a highly concentrated period of involvement between February 13, 2017 – March 8, 2017. Upon completion of an active and engaged term with the ESB and conclusion of the campus-wide elections process, the chair, elected by the ESB, will receive $1000.00 and each member of the ESB will receive $750.00 for their service. Additional information about the position can be found in the online application and details about campus-wide elections can be found on this website.

If you have any questions, please contact Marcus Mayes, Deputy Advisor to the Dean of Students, at